Funding Sources for the Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences

*Denote High Value Faculty Awards and Fellowships

Funding Agencies/Opportunities Website
Ahmanson Short-Term Research Fellowships in Medieval and Renaissance Studies at UCLA http://cmrs.ucla.edu/awards-fellowships/ahmanson/
The American Academy in Berlin http://www.americanacademy.de/
American Academy in Rome (AAU) http://www.aarome.org/
*American Academy of Arts and Sciences Fellowship Programs (AAU) https://www.amacad.org/content/about/about.aspx?d=103#
*American Antiquarian Society Fellowships (AAU) http://www.americanantiquarian.org/fellowships.htm
American Association for the History of Medicine http://www.histmed.org/posts/announcements/fellowships
American Association of University Women http://www.aauw.org/what-we-do/educational-funding-and-awards/
The American Center of Oriental Research Fellowships http://acorjordan.org/index.php/en/
*American Council of Learned Societies Fellows (BOG, TARU/CMUP) https://www.acls.org/programs/acls/
American Councils for International Education http://americancouncils.am/
American Institute of Indian Studies Research Fellowships http://www.indiastudies.org/language-programs/
American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee Archives Research Fellowships (New York or Jerusalem) http://archives.jdc.org/about-us/fellowships.html
American Philosophical Society Fellowships https://www.amphilsoc.org/library/fellowships
American Political Science Association http://www.apsanet.org/
American Research Institute in Turkey Fellowship Programs http://ccat.sas.upenn.edu/ARIT/FellowshipPrograms.html
American-Scandinavian Foundation (ASF) Fellowships and Public Project Grants http://www.amscan.org/fellowships-and-grants/public-project-proposal-guidelines/
*The American School of Classical Studies at Athens Fellowships (AAU) http://www.ascsa.edu.gr/index.php/about
American Sociological Association http://www.asanet.org/
Arizona State University Institute for Humanities Research Visiting Scholars https://ihr.asu.edu/funding/fellows
Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library Visiting Postdoctoral Scholar Fellowships (Yale University) http://beinecke.library.yale.edu/programs-events/fellowship-program
Berlin Program for Advanced German and European Studies http://www.fu-berlin.de/en/sites/bprogram/program/index.html
Robert Beyster Fellowships (Rutgers University) http://smlr.rutgers.edu/beyster-fellows
Bogliasco Foundation http://bfny.org/
Frederick Burkhardt Residential Fellowships for Recently Tenured Scholars http://www.acls.org/grants/Default.aspx?id=480
Carmago Foundation Fellowship Programs http://camargofoundation.org/index.php
Center for Advanced Holocaust Studies, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum https://www.ushmm.org/research/competitive-academic-programs
*Center for Advanced Studies in the Visual Arts Residency (AAU) http://www.nga.gov/content/ngaweb/research/casva/fellowships.html
Center for Jewish History http://www.cjh.org/p/2
Chemical Heritage Foundation Fellowships https://www.chemheritage.org/fellowships
Chiang Ching-kuo Foundation for International Scholarly Exchange http://www.cckf.org.tw/en?set_language=en
Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute http://www.clarkart.edu/rap/fellowship/About-Clark-Fellowships
Columbia University Journalism School Spencer Education Journalism Fellowship http://spencerfellows.org/
Cornell Society for the Humanities Fellowships http://www.arts.cornell.edu/sochum/society_fellowships.html
The Francis A. Countway Library Fellowship in the History of Medicine https://www.countway.harvard.edu/
Davis Center for Russian and Eurasian Studies http://daviscenter.fas.harvard.edu/
D. Kim Foundation Fellowships for the History of Science and Technology in East Asia http://dkimfoundation.org/wp1/
Duke University Thompson Writing Program Fellowships http://twp.duke.edu/
Dumbarton Oaks: Fellowships in Byzantine Studies, Pre-Columbian Studies and Studies in Landscape Architecture http://www.doaks.org/research/fellowships-and-grants
Durham University (UK) Institute of Advanced Study Fellowships https://www.dur.ac.uk/ias/
Escape to Create (Seaside, FL) http://www.escape2create.org/
European University Institute Fellowships http://www.eui.eu/ProgrammesAndFellowships/Fellowships.aspx
Faculty Fellowship Summer Institute in Israel http://www.ff2israel.org/
FINRA Investigator Education Foundation http://www.finrafoundation.org/
Folger Shakespeare Library Research Fellowships http://www.folger.edu/research-at-the-folger
Friends of the University of Wisconsin-Madison Library Grants to Scholars http://www.library.wisc.edu/friends/friends-grants/
*Fulbright American Scholars (BOG, TARU) http://www.cies.org/programs
German Academic Exchange Service https://www.daad.org/
*Getty Scholars in Residence (BOG, TARU/CMUP) http://www.getty.edu/foundation/initiatives/residential/getty_scholars.html
GRAMMY Foundation https://www.grammy.org/grammy-foundation/grants
Harry Frank Guggenheim Foundation http://www.hfg.org/df/guidelines.htm
*John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowships (BOG, TARU/CMUP) http://www.gf.org/applicants/us-canada/
Louise Wallace Hackney Fellowship for the Study of Chinese Art https://www.americanorientalsociety.org/news/the-louise-wallace-hackney-fellowship-for-the-study-of-chinese-art/
Heckman Research Stipends for Research at the Hill Museum and the Manuscript Library http://www.hmml.org/scholar-opportunities.html
Horowitz Foundation for Social Policy http://www.horowitz-foundation.org/
*Institute for Advanced Study Residency (AAU) https://www.ias.edu/apply
Institute for New Economic Thinking http://ineteconomics.org/
Institute of Historical Research Alan Pearsall Fellowship in Naval and Maritime History http://www.history.ac.uk/fellowships
The Institute of Turkish Studies Research Grants http://turkishstudies.org/grants/grants_competition.shtml
International Institute for Jewish Genealogy Research Grants http://iijg.org/research/research-grants/
International Security Studies Postdoctoral Fellowship http://iss.yale.edu/programs/fellowships
Israel Institute Fellowship and Research Grants http://www.israelinstitute.org/programs/academic
Israel Inter-University Academic Partnership in Russian and East European Studies http://iuap.haifa.ac.il/index.php/en/fellowships-grants.html
I Tatti Fellowships http://itatti.harvard.edu/fellowships
Calvin K. Kazanjian Economics Foundation http://www.kazanjian.org/
John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum Fellowships http://www.jfklibrary.org/Research/Research-Grants-and-Fellowships.aspx
Kislak Fellowship in American Studies http://www.loc.gov/loc/kluge/fellowships/kislak.html
J.S. Lee Memorial Fellowship Programme for Chinese Art http://www.jsleefellowship.org/index_en.php
Library of Congress John Kluge Fellowship http://www.loc.gov/loc/kluge/fellowships/kluge.php
The Alan Lomax Fellowship in Folklife Studies https://www.loc.gov/loc/kluge/fellowships/lomax.html
*John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation Fellows (BOG, TARU/CMUP) https://www.macfound.org/programs/fellows/
Mandel Postdoctoral Fellowships http://en.scholion.huji.ac.il/
Marco Institute for Medieval and Renaissance Studies Jimmy and Dee Haslam Postdoctoral Fellowship http://web.utk.edu/~marco/haslam_postdoc.php
Andrew W. Mellon Fellowship of Scholars in Critical Bibliography in Residence at the Rare Book School (University of Virginia) http://rarebookschool.org/admissions-awards/fellowships/mellon/
Andrew W. Mellon Post-Doctoral Fellowships in Humanities https://mellon.org/programs/higher-education-and-scholarship-humanities/fellowships/
Henry Moore Institute Research Fellowships http://www.henry-moore.org/hmi/research/hmi-visiting-research-fellowships
Murphy Institute Faculty Fellowships in Ethics and Public Affairs (Tulane University) http://murphy.tulane.edu/programs/center/faculty-fellowships
National Council for Eurasian and East European Research http://www.nceeer.org/home.html
National Endowment for the Arts https://www.arts.gov/grants
*National Endowment for the Humanities Fellowships (BOG, TARU/CMUP) http://www.neh.gov/grants/research/fellowships
National Gallery of Art http://www.nga.gov/content/ngaweb/research/casva/fellowships.html
National Geographic Society http://www.nationalgeographic.com/about/
*National Humanities Center Fellowships (BOG, TARU/CMUP) http://nationalhumanitiescenter.org/become-a-fellow/
NEA Foundation Learning & Leadership Grants http://www.neafoundation.org/pages/learning-leadership-grants/
*Newberry Library Long-Term Fellows (BOG, TARU/CMUP) https://www.newberry.org/long-term-fellowships
New York Historical Society Museum and Library Fellowships http://www.nyhistory.org/library/fellowships
New York Public Library Fellowships https://www.nypl.org/help/about-nypl/fellowships-institutes
Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture Fellowships http://oieahc.wm.edu/fellowship/
Open Society Foundations https://www.opensocietyfoundations.org
Palestinian American Research Center (PARC) Faculty Development Seminar on Palestine http://parc-us-pal.org/fellowship.htm
Polonsky Postdoctoral Fellowship at the Van Leer Jerusalem Institute http://www.polonsky.vanleer.org.il/about/
Presidential Management Fellows Program with a Federal Agency https://www.pmf.gov/becomeapmf/index.aspx
Princeton University – Postdoctoral Fellowships in Humanities and Social Sciences http://www.princeton.edu/sf/
Princeton University – Program in Law and Public Affairs http://lapa.princeton.edu/content/fellowships
Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study Fellowships https://www.radcliffe.harvard.edu/fellowship-program
Reagan-Fascell Democracy Fellows Program (Washington, D.C.) http://www.ned.org/fellowships/reagan-fascell-democracy-fellows-program/
Charles Redd Center for Western Studies Awards, Fellowships and Grants https://reddcenter.byu.edu/Pages/Apply-for-an-Award.aspx
Rockefeller Archive Center Grants-in-Aid Program http://www.rockarch.org/grants/generalgia.php
Rockefeller Foundation https://www.rockefellerfoundation.org/
Rockefeller Foundation Bellagio (Italy) Residency Program https://www.rockefellerfoundation.org/our-work/bellagio-center/residency-program/
Russell Sage Foundation Social Science Research Visiting Scholar http://www.russellsage.org/visiting-scholars
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture Scholars-in-Residence Program Fellowship https://www.nypl.org/help/about-nypl/fellowships-institutes/schomburg-center-scholars-in-residency
School for Advanced Research (SAR) Resident Scholar Fellowships https://sarweb.org/?resident_scholars
Fred W. Smith National Library for the Study of George Washington at Mount Vernon Fellowships http://www.mountvernon.org/library/fellowships/fellows-program/
Smith Richardson Foundation https://www.srf.org/
Smithsonian Institute Fellowships http://www.smithsonianofi.com/fellowship-opportunities/smithsonian-institution-fellowship-program/
Social Science Research Council http://www.ssrc.org/
Society for Classical Studies https://classicalstudies.org/awards-fellowships
Society for the History of Technology Hindle Fellowship http://www.historyoftechnology.org/awards/hindle.html
Solmsen Post-Doctoral Fellowships http://irh.wisc.edu/fellowships/solmsen
Stanford Humanities Center Fellowships http://shc.stanford.edu/fellowships
Taiwan Fellowship http://taiwanfellowship.ncl.edu.tw/eng/apply.aspx
UCLA Center for 18th and 19th Century Studies Fellowships http://www.1718.ucla.edu/
United States Institute of Peace (USIP) https://www.usip.org/grants-fellowships
University of Chicago Harper and Schmidt Four Year Fellowship http://societyoffellows.uchicago.edu/
University of Edinburgh Institute for Advanced Studies in the Humanities Visiting Research Fellowships http://www.iash.ed.ac.uk/fellowships/fellowships-at-iash/
University of Pennsylvania – Mellon Post Doc/Teaching Fellow https://www.phf.upenn.edu/fellowships/andrew-w-mellon-postdoctoral-fellowship-humanities
W.E. Upjohn Institute for Employment Research http://www.upjohn.org/
VolkswagenStiftung – New Options in the Humanities and Cultural Studies https://www.volkswagenstiftung.de/en/funding/challenges-for-academia-and-society/original-isnt-it.html
Wabash Center http://www.wabashcenter.wabash.edu/grants/default.aspx
*Woodrow Wilson fellows and Scholars Program (BOG, TARU/CMUP) https://www.wilsoncenter.org/fellowship-application
Yiddish Book Center Fellowship Program (Amherst, MA) http://www.yiddishbookcenter.org/